Millers Creek Special District

February 20, 2017 Meeting Minutes

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 P.M. by Chair Rene Pulido.

Roll Call:

Board Members Present: Rene Pulido, Chair; Derik Flint, Vice Chair; Sharon Johnson, Secretary; Chris Rose, Treasurer;  Jonathan Wright Barbara McMorrow

Board Members Absent: Danny Pulido

Others Present:  Attorney Wayne Flowers, Gary Hall, Marcia Hodgson, Randy Reep, Suny Camerlengo, Joe Wagner, Louis Joseph

A quorum was present.

October 2016 and January 2017 Minutes were approved unanimously. 

Barbara McMorrow was welcomed to the board to fill Seat 6 that was vacated by Kay Gilmour. Resolution 17-01 stating same was approved unanimously and signed by board chair Rene Pulido. 

Danny Pulido was forced to resign from the board due to several conflicts with his professional and personal commitments. Louis Joseph was nominated to fill Seat 7, which was vacated by Danny. The vote was unanimous to approve Louis. Wayne Flowers will draft Resolution 17-02 stating same. Sharon Johnson has requested and received a written resignation from Danny Pulido for the records.

Chris Rose presented the February 2017 Treasurer’s Report.  The balance in the bank account effective February 19, 2017 is $$$$.  An Intuit bill in the sum of $12.95 was paid. An attorney’s fees invoice from Lewis, Longman, and Walker, P.A. in the sum of $1,586.00 was presented and approved by unanimous vote to be paid. A paid invoice for publication of 2017 meeting notices by the Financial News and Daily Record, in the sum of $814.50, was presented and approved by unanimous vote to be paid to Sharon Johnson. A paid invoice, in the sum of $112.00 for the annual U.S. Postal Service mail box, was presented and approved to be paid to Sharon Johnson. Motion was made, and the vote to approve the February Treasurer’s Report was unanimous.

Attorney Flowers advised the 2017-2018 Budget must be submitted to the City of Jacksonville by April 1, 2017. Jonathan Wright will draft the budget, and it will be reviewed and approved by the board at the March meeting.

The liability insurance proposal is $2,437.  This issue will be tabled until our March meeting. 

The District has received approximately $12,650.00 in voluntary donations from the District property owners. The donations were to be repaid in January 2017 when assessments were received from the Tax Collector. Discussion ensued regarding the need to have those funds available for an additional year, until January 2018, for future operating expenses. It was proposed that the District property owners be sent a letter asking that the District be permitted to retain said funds for another year. Each donating property owner may opt to be reimbursed in March 2017 or January 2018. It was proposed, and the vote was unanimous, that Chris Rose draft a letter to members stating the foregoing, and provide same to Chair Rene for review and mailing

Bobby Baker, Sharon Johnson, and Chris McMorrow will review the Request For Qualifications (RFQ 2102-01). The communications criteria should be removed. The Board will review and approve the final draft at the March meeting. The final draft must be published in the Daily Record and posted on the MCSD website. Attorney Flowers should receive a hard copy.

Based on William Jones’ visit and report, Sharon Johnson shared that the trash situation at Mayfair Village Apartments is under control at this time. The situation at The Preserve at St. Nicholas is awful but because there is a tall wooden fence surrounding that portion of the property, it does not affect Millers Creek at this time. 

Sharon Johnson reported that Barbara McMorrow has agreed to serve on the Board, replacing Kay Gilmour. The vote was unanimous to have Barbara McMorrow join the Board. 

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:16 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Sharon Johnson



  1. Future meetings will be held monthly on the third Monday of each month, with the next meeting scheduled for March 20, 2017.
  2. The legal address for “MCSD” is Millers Creek Special District, Sharon Johnson, Secretary, P.O. Box 47375, Jacksonville, FL 32247.

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.